Home Page

Believe in yourself, show respect for each other and together we succeed.

Special Educational Needs & Disabilities (SEND)

SENCO: Ms Jackie Conduct                                                                                  


School Information Report

The Special Educational Needs and Disability (SEND) Code of Practice states that: 

"A pupil has SEND where their learning and disability calls for special educational provision, that is provision different from or additional to that normally available to pupils of the same age". 


In responding to the new SEND Code of Practice, all Essex (LA) maintained schools set out to deliver an equivalent and fair provision for children and young people with SENDs. This means that schools like Waltham Holy Cross  work towards ensuring all pupils make the best possible progress and that all schools are supported by the LA to be as inclusive as possible.


The SEND Code of Practice sets out four broad categories of need. These are

  • Communication and Interaction
  • Cognition and Learning
  • Social, Emotional and Mental Health Difficulties
  • Sensory and Physical Needs.



What is the Local Offer?

  • Local Authorities and schools are required to publish and review information about educational provision available for children and young people with SEND under the Children and Families Bill. This is known as the ‘Local Offer’.
  • The Local Offer should help parents and families know what they can reasonably expect from their local schools.


Please see the link below to the Local Offer published by the Essex Local Authority. Additionally, we have provided a document which can be downloaded which details Waltham Holy Cross Primary School's 'Local Offer' - this is our approach to the provision we provide to SEND pupils as a school